Home‎ > ‎English III‎ > ‎

Agenda- English III, Period C

Week 38: Monday, June 13, 2016 - Thursday, June 16, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayDDROP DAY
 TuesdayCPoetry Roundtable; James Joyce's "Araby"
 WednesdayALast day of classes
 Thursday 
FINAL EXAM
 Friday

Week 37: Monday, June 6, 2016 - Friday, June 10, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayBPoetry Roundtable;  College Essay due Wednesday
 TuesdayAPoetry Roundtable; College Essay due tomorrow
 WednesdayGDUE: College Essay; Final Exam Review; Poetry Roundtable
 Thursday FPoetry Roundtable
 FridayEFinal Exam Review

Week 36: Monday, May 30, 2016 - Friday, June 3, 2016
 Date Agenda
 Monday
NO SCHOOL - Memorial Day
 TuesdayFLord of the Flies;  Homework: College Essay
 WednesdayELord of the Flies;  Homework: College Essay
 Thursday DDROP DAY
 FridayCLord of the Flies; Homework: College Essay; Read poems for Monday: Poem List

Week 35: Monday, May 23, 2016 - Friday, May 27, 2016
 Date Agenda
 Monday
NO CLASS
 Tuesday
Long period: Watch Act II of Waiting for Godot
 Wednesday
Short period: Waiting for Godot
 Thursday AWaiting for Godot
 FridayGWaiting for Godot;  For Tuesday's class, read Lord of the Flies

Week 34: Monday, May 16, 2016 - Friday, May 20, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayESamuel Beckett's Waiting for Godot; Homework: Read Lord of the Flies for Tuesday, May 31
 TuesdayDDROP DAY
 WednesdayCWaiting for Godot
 Thursday BWaiting for Godot
 FridayAWaiting for Godot

Week 33: Monday, May 9, 2016 - Friday, May 13, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayCPoetry Roundtable; Homework: Annotate Tennyson's "Ulysses"
 TuesdayBPoetry Roundtable; Homework: Annotate "Porphyria's Lover"
 WednesdayAPoetry Roundtable; Homework: Annotate "Dover Beach"; READ "God's Grandeur" & "Pied Beauty"
 Thursday GPoetry Roundtable; Homework: Annotate "To An Athlete Dying Young" and "Invictus"
 FridayFPoetry Roundtable;  BRING WAITING FOR GODOT TO CLASS ON MONDAY

Week 32: Monday, May 2, 2016 - Friday, May 6, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayAPoetry Roundtable; Homework: Annotate "I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud,""My Heart Leaps Up," & "She Walks In Beauty"
 TuesdayGPoetry Roundtable; Homework: Annotate "Ozymandias" and "Bright Star"
 WednesdayFPoetry Roundtable; Homework: Annotate "When I Have Fears" and "Ode on a Grecian Urn" for Monday
 Thursday ENO CLASS - Ascension Thursday Mass
 FridayDDROP DAY

Week 31: Monday, April 25, 2016 - Friday, April 29, 2016
Please get a copy of Waiting for Godot (any paperback version is fine)
 Date Agenda
 MondayEReview Poetry Roundtable; choose poems;
Homework:  1)  For Thursday's class, read "The Rime of the Ancient Mariner" -- See Google Classroom for directions
2) By the end of school Friday, take the Unit 10 vocab quiz
 TuesdayDDROP DAY
 WednesdayCIntroduction to Romanticism; Thomas Gray's "Elegy Written in a Country Churchyard"
 ThursdayBSamuel Taylor Coleridge's "The Rime of the Ancient Mariner"
 FridayAAnnotate "The Lamb," "The Tyger," and "The World is Too Much With Us: Late and Soon" (submit in Google Classroom)

Week 30: Monday, April 11, 2016 - Friday, April 15, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayCThe Power and the Glory; Homework: Read P&G Part III, Ch 1 (pp 163-184)
 TuesdayBJohn Milton; The Power and the Glory; Homework:  Read P&G Part III, Ch 2-3 (pp 184-203)
 WednesdayAOverview: The Enlightenment/Neoclassical Period; Homework: Read P&G Part III, Ch 4 and Part IV (pp 203-225)
 ThursdayGThe Power and the Glory
 FridayFThe Power and the Glory

Week 29: Monday, April 4, 2016 - Friday, April 8, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayAMetaphysical and Cavalier poetry;  Homework: For Wednesday, read P&G Part II, Ch 1 (pp 63-105)
 TuesdayGMetaphysical and Cavalier poetry
 WednesdayFThe Power and the Glory; Homework: Read P&G Part II, Ch 2 (pp 105-124)
 ThursdayEThe Power and the Glory; Homework: For Monday, read P&G Part II, Ch 3-4 (pp 124-160)
OPTIONAL ENRICHMENT: GO SEE FEEHAN'S MUSICAL. BRING ME THE PAMPHLET
 FridayDDROP DAY

Week 28: Monday, March 28, 2016 - Friday, April 1, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayFNO SCHOOL -- Easter Monday
 TuesdayEGraham Greene's The Power and the Glory;  Homework: Read P&G Part I, Ch 1 (pp 9-21)
 WednesdayDDROP DAY
 ThursdayCThe Power and the Glory;  Homework: Read P&G Part I, Ch 2 (pp 21-32)
 FridayBThe Power and the Glory;  Homework: Read P&G Part I, Ch 3-4 (pp 32-60)

Week 27: Monday, March 21, 2016 - Friday, March 25, 2016
For next week, please have Power and the Glory; Check spreadsheet for ISBN-13 of correct edition
 Date Agenda
 MondayCNO SCHOOL -- Snow Day
 TuesdayBMetaphysical and Cavalier poetry; HW: Write a claim paragraph about Little Bee (Due Thursday in Claims Journal)
 WednesdayAMetaphysical and Cavalier poetry
 ThursdayGMetaphysical and Cavalier poetry
 Friday
NO SCHOOL -- Good Friday

Week 26: Monday, March 14, 2016 - Friday, March 18, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayAGrammar: Misplaced/dangling modifiers, Parallel structure; Homework: Read Little Bee, Chapters 7-8
 TuesdayGDiscuss Little Bee; Homework: Read Little Bee, Chapters 9-10
 WednesdayFOverview: The Renaissance and Restoration, Part Two; Homework: Read Little Bee, Chapter 11
 ThursdayEDiscuss Little Bee
 FridayDDROP DAY

Week 25: Monday, March 7, 2016 - Friday, March 11, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayEDiscuss Little Bee;  Homework: Read Little Bee, Chapter 4
 TuesdayDDROP DAY
 WednesdayCJonathan Swift's "A Modest Proposal";  Read Little Bee, Chapter 5
 ThursdayB"A Modest Proposal";  Read Little Bee, Chapter 6
 Friday
NO SCHOOL

Week 24: Monday, February 29, 2016 - Friday, March 4, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayBDUE: Pride and Prejudice Essay; Rhetorical argument;  Homework: Read Chris Cleave's Little Bee, Chapter 1
 TuesdayARhetorical argument; Homework: Read Little Bee, Chapter 2
 Wednesday
NO CLASS (Early Dismissal)
 ThursdayGRhetorical argument; Homework: Read Little Bee, Chapter 3
 FridayFRhetorical argument

Week 23: Monday, February 22, 2016 - Friday, February 26, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayFPride & Prejudice discussion: Discussion questions;  PRIDE AND PREJUDICE ESSAY DUE ON MONDAY, FEBRUARY 29
 TuesdayEPride & Prejudice discussion
 WednesdayDDROP DAY
 ThursdayCThe new SAT
 Friday
NO CLASS (Early Dismissal)

Week 22: Monday, February 8, 2016 - Friday, February 12, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayDDROP DAY
 TuesdayCPride and Prejudice;  Homework: order books
 WednesdayB***LIBRARY VISIT*** -- Pride & Prejudice Essay assignment: see Google Classroom
 ThursdayA***LIBRARY VISIT***
 FridayG***LIBRARY VISIT***

Week 21: Monday, February 1, 2016 - Friday, February 5, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayBPride and Prejudice; Read Vol 3, Ch 4-7
 TuesdayAPride and Prejudice; Read Vol 3, Ch 8-11
 WednesdayGPride and Prejudice;  Read Vol 3, Ch 12-15
 ThursdayFPride and Prejudice;  Read Vol 3, Ch 16-19
 FridayENO CLASS: Feehan's Got Talent

Week 20: Monday, January 25, 2016 - Friday, January 29, 2016
 Date Agenda
 Monday
EXAMS
 Tuesday
EXAMS
 Wednesday
EXAMS
 Thursday
EXAMS
 FridayCPride and Prejudice; Read Vol 3, Ch 1-3

Week 19: Monday, January 18, 2016 - Friday, January 22, 2016
 Date Agenda
 Monday
NO SCHOOL - MLK DAY
 TuesdayGMid-year Presentations; Pride and Prejudice
 WednesdayFPride and Prejudice;  Read Vol 2, Ch 13-17
 ThursdayEPride and Prejudice;  Read Vol 2, Ch 18-19
 FridayBPride and Prejudice

Week 18: Monday, January 11, 2016 - Friday, January 15, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayEMid-year Presentations;  For Friday's class, read Volume 2, Chapters 1-6 of Pride and Prejudice
 TuesdayDDROP DAY
 WednesdayCMid-year Presentations
 ThursdayBMid-year Presentations
 FridayAMid-year Presentations;  For Tuesday's class, read Volume 2, Chapters 7-12

Week 17: Monday, January 4, 2016 - Friday, January 8, 2016
 Date Agenda
 MondayCPride and Prejudice
 TuesdayBPride and Prejudice
 WednesdayAPride and Prejudice- Read Volume 1, Chapters 17-19
 ThursdayGPride and Prejudice- Read Volume 1, Chapters 20-23 
 FridayFHomework: All students must be prepared to present their mid-year project on Monday

Week 16: Monday, December 21, 2015 - Friday, December 25, 2015
 Date Agenda
 MondayFJane Austen's Pride and Prejudice- Vol 1, Ch 1-6
 TuesdayEPride and Prejudice- Vol 1, Ch 7-10        VACATION: Read Pride and Prejudice- Vol 1, Ch 11-16
 WednesdayDDROP DAY
 Thursday
CHRISTMAS VACATION
 Friday
CHRISTMAS VACATION

Week 15: Monday, December 14, 2015 - Friday, December 18, 2015
 Date Agenda
 MondayCDUE: Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow; Macbeth;  ***Get a copy of The Annotated Pride and Prejudice***
 TuesdayBMacbeth
 Wednesday
NO CLASS: Periods A-B-X-E
 ThursdayAMacbeth
 FridayGMacbeth

Week 14: Monday, December 7, 2015 - Friday, December 11, 2015
 Date Agenda
 MondayADUE: Mid-year Project Step Three: Outline (Google Classroom); Macbeth;  Homework: Write a paragraph about Macbeth in your Claims Journal;  ***Get a copy of The Annotated Pride and Prejudice***
 TuesdayGMacbeth;  for Monday, memorize the "Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow" soliloquy
 WednesdayFMacbeth
 ThursdayEMacbeth;  for Monday, memorize the "Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow" soliloquy
 FridayDDROP DAY

Week 13: Monday, November 30, 2015 - Friday, December 4, 2015
 Date Agenda
 MondayFMacbeth;  Formatting an outline (Mid-year Project Step Three: Outline- Due next Monday in Google Classroom
***Get a copy of The Annotated Pride and Prejudice***
 TuesdayE:  Homework: Watch and assess Sonnet Movies- Due Friday (Google Classroom)Macbeth
 WednesdayDDROP DAY
 ThursdayCMacbeth
 FridayBDUE: Assessment of Sonnet MoviesMacbeth;    Mid-year Project Step Three: Outline- Due Monday (Google Classroom)

Week 12: Monday, November 23, 2015 - Friday, November 27, 2015
 Date Agenda
 MondayADUE: Mid-year Project, Step Two (see Google Classroom)Macbeth;  Homework: Blog post
 TuesdayGMacbeth    ***Get a copy of The Annotated Pride and Prejudice***
 WednesdayFNO CLASS - Early Dismissal
 Thursday
NO SCHOOL - Thanksgiving Recess
 Friday
NO SCHOOL - Thanksgiving Recess

Week 11: Monday, November 16, 2015 - Friday, November 20, 2015
 Date Agenda
 MondayFSonnet project; Take Vocab Quiz, Unit 9 by end of school day Friday
 TuesdayESonnet project
 WednesdayDDROP DAY
 ThursdayCShakespeare and Macbeth 
 FridayBDUE: Vocab Quiz, Unit 9Shakespeare and Macbeth;  DUE MONDAY: Step Two of Mid-year Project (see Google Classroom);
***OPTIONAL ENRICHMENT: GO TO THE SCHOOL PLAY- BRING ME THE PLAYBILL WITH YOUR NAME ON IT

Week 10: Monday, November 9, 2015 - Friday, November 13, 2015
 Date Agenda
 Monday C Sonnets of Sidney and Wyatt; Homework: Claims journal
 TuesdayBShakespeare's Sonnet 116; Shakespeare Sonnet Project (see Google Classroom)
 Wednesday
NO SCHOOL -- Veterans Day
 ThursdayASonnet Project
 FridayGSonnet Project

Week 9: Monday, November 2, 2015 - Friday, November 6, 2015
 Date Agenda
 MondayA Writing;  Homework: Complete assignment in Google Classroom
 TuesdayGWriting; Take Vocab Quiz, Unit 8 by end of school Friday
 WednesdayFIntro to the Renaissance
 ThursdayESonnets of Spenser; Take Vocab Quiz, Unit 8 by end of school tomorrow
 FridayDDROP DAY

Week 8: Monday, October 26, 2015 - Friday, October 30, 2015
 Date Agenda
 Monday E  Writing; Take Vocab Quiz, Unit 7 by end of school Friday
 TuesdayDDROP DAY
 Wednesday
PSAT/College Visit Day
 ThursdayCWriting
 FridayBDUE: Vocab Quiz, Unit 7Writing

Week 7: Monday, October 19, 2015 - Friday, October 23, 2015
 Date Agenda
 Monday C Everyman; Take Vocab Quiz, Unit 6 by end of school Friday
 TuesdayBEveryman
 WednesdayAEveryman
 ThursdayGEveryman
 FridayFDUE: Vocab Quiz, Unit 6

Week 6: Monday, October 12, 2015 - Friday, October 16, 2015
 Date Agenda
 Monday  NO SCHOOL — COLUMBUS DAY
 TuesdayF"The Wife of Bath's Tale"; Mid-year Project; Take Vocab Quiz, Unit 5 by end of school Friday
 Wednesday
NO SCHOOL — PROFESSIONAL DAY
 ThursdayEBallads; Take Vocab Quiz, Unit 5 by end of school tomorrow
 FridayDDROP DAY   ***Optional Enrichment: Cal Armistead (author of Being Henry David) X-period in auditorium

Week 5: Monday, October 5, 2015 - Friday, October 9, 2015
 Date Agenda
 Monday C Introduction to the Medieval Period; "Sir Gawain and the Green Knight"; Take Vocab Quiz, Unit 4 by end of school Thursday
 TuesdayBChaucer's The Canterbury Tales, "The Pardoner's Tale"
 WednesdayC"The Miller's Tale"
 ThursdayGDUE: Vocab Quiz, Unit 4"The Reeve's Tale"; Homework: for Tuesday's class, read "The Wife of Bath's Tale"
 FridayDDROP DAY

Week 4: Monday, September 28, 2015 - Friday, October 2, 2015
 Date Agenda
 Monday A Grammar:  Agreement- Subject/ verb; pronoun/antecedent; Take Vocab Quiz, Unit 3 by end of school Friday
 TuesdayGGrammar: Agreement; Pronoun reference
 WednesdayFturnitin sign up
 ThursdayEQUIZ: Grammar- Agreement & Pronoun Reference;  Take Vocab Quiz, Unit 3 by end of school tomorrow
 FridayDDROP DAY

Week 3: Monday, September 21, 2015 - Friday, September 25, 2015
 Date Agenda
 Monday F Beowulf ;  Homework: finish reading exerpts of Beowulf in textbook (pp 40-64)
 TuesdayEBeowulf in translation
 WednesdayDDROP DAY
 ThursdayCBeowulf in translation
 FridayBDUE: Vocab Quiz, Unit 2Beowulf in translation

Week 2: Monday, September 14, 2015 - Friday, September 18, 2015
 Date Agenda
 Monday D DROP DAY
 TuesdayCPlagiarism presentation; Writer's Help exercises; Take Unit 1 Vocab Quiz by the end of school Friday
 WednesdayBIntroduction to the Anglo-Saxon period
 ThursdayA"The Seafarer"
 FridayGDUE: Vocab Quiz, Unit 1; "The Seafarer"

Week 1: Monday, September 7, 2015 - Friday, September 11, 2015
 Date Agenda
 Monday NO SCHOOL- Labor Day
 TuesdayA"The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore"
 WednesdayGClass Policies and Expectations; Website; Google Classroom; Reading articles
 ThursdayFReading articles
 FridayEQUIZ: Summer Reading

Comments