Home‎ > ‎English II‎ > ‎

Agenda- English II, Period D (2018-2019)

Week 30: Monday, April 8, 2019 - Friday, April 12, 2019
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  D    Kindred: The Rope and Epilogue (pp 240-264)
 Tuesday  Kindred
 Wednesday  Kindred
 Thursday  A    Mark Twain's The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Ch I-VI (pp 1-22)   Audiobook
 Friday  Huck Finn, Ch VII-XVI (pp 22-72)

Week 29: Monday, April 1, 2019 - Friday, April 5, 2019
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  A    Kindred: The Fight Ch 3-9 (pp 117-154)
 Tuesday    NO CLASS - Delayed Opening
 Wednesday  Kindred: The Fight Ch 10-16 (pp 154-188)
 Thursday  F    Kindred: The Storm Ch 1-13 (pp 189-239)
 Friday  DROP DAY  END OF QUARTER 3

Week 28: Monday, March 25, 2019 - Friday, March 29, 2019
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  E    DROP DAY  REMEMBER YOUR VOCAB QUIZZES!
 Tuesday  Conclude Fences; Octavia Butler's Kindred:  Prologue; The River; The Fire (pp 9-51)
 Wednesday  Kindred: The Fall Ch 1-4 (pp 52-81)
 Thursday  B    Kindred: The Fall Ch 5-8, The Fight Ch 1-2 (pp 81-117)
 Friday    NO SCHOOL - Faculty Retreat 

Week 27: Monday, March 18, 2019 - Friday, March 22, 2019
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  B    August Wilson's Fences;  REMEMBER YOUR VOCAB QUIZZES!
 Tuesday  A    Fences
 Wednesday    Fences
 Thursday  G    Fences
 Friday  Fences

Week 26: Monday, March 11, 2019 - Friday, March 15, 2019
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  F    Interpreter of Maladies; Homework: "This Blessed House"
 Tuesday  E    DROP DAY
 Wednesday D  Interpreter of Maladies; Homework: "The Third and Final Continent"
 Thursday  C    Interpreter of MaladiesHomework: For Monday, watch this documentary on August Wilson (42 minutes)
 Friday    NO SCHOOL - Professional Day

Week 25: Monday, March 4, 2019 - Friday, March 8, 2019
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  C    SNOW DAY
 Tuesday        NO CLASS - Delayed Opening
 Wednesday B  John Steinbeck's Of Mice and Men; Homework: Jhumpa Lahiri's "A Temporary Matter" from Interpreter of Maladies
 Thursday  A    Of Mice and Men; Interpreter of Maladies; Homework: Lahiri's "When Mr. Pirzada Came to Dine" from Interpreter of Maladies
 Friday  Interpreter of Maladies; Homework: Lahiri's "Interpreter of Maladies" and "Sexy" from Interpreter of Maladies

Week 24: Monday, February 25, 2019 - Friday, March 1, 2019
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  A    ATGIB; Homework: Handwritten letter to Betty Smith (two pages)  ORDER REMAINING BOOKS (See Google Classroom)
 Tuesday   G     ATGIB: Homework: Claim paragraph on the novel (Due Friday)
 Wednesday F  ATGIB
 Thursday  E    DROP DAY
 Friday  Due: Claim paragraphAnthems; For Tuesday, read John Steinbeck's Of Mice and Men

Week 23: Monday, February 11, 2019 - Friday, February 15, 2019
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  F    ATGIB, Ch 35-37
 Tuesday   E     DROP DAY
 Wednesday D  ATGIB, Ch 38-39
 Thursday  C    ATGIB, Ch 40-42
 Friday  ATGIB, Ch 43-56

Week 22: Monday, February 4, 2019 - Friday, February 8, 2019
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  C    ATGIB, Ch 15-19
 Tuesday   B     Discuss ATGIB
 Wednesday    ATGIB, Ch 20-24
 Thursday  A    ATGIB, Ch 25-28
 Friday  ATGIB, Ch 29-34

Week 21: Monday, January 28, 2019 - Friday, February 1, 2019
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  A    Betty Smith's A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Ch 1-2 (24 pp)
 Tuesday   G     ATGIB, Ch 3-6 (21.5 pp)
 Wednesday  ATGIB, Ch 7-9 (33 pp)
 Thursday  E    DROP DAY
 Friday  ATGIB, Ch 10-14 (28.5 pp)

Week 20: Monday, January 21, 2019 - Friday, January 25, 2019
You need a copy of A Tree Grows in Brooklyn for Monday, January 28 
 Date    Agenda
      MID-YEAR EXAM WEEK

Week 19: Monday, January 14, 2018 - Friday, January 18, 2019
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  D    Conclude Gatsby; Nathaniel Hawthorne's ""The Minister's Black Veil"
 Tuesday   C     Discuss "The Minister's Black Veil"; Read Bret Harte's "The Outcasts of Poker Flat"
 Wednesday  Discuss "The Outcasts of Poker Flat"
 Thursday  A    Poetry of E. A. Robinson
 Friday    MIDYEAR EXAMS BEGIN

Week 18: Monday, January 7, 2018 - Friday, January 11, 2019
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  B    QUIZ: Writing;  Homework: Complete activities on prepositions on Khan Academy for tomorrow's class
 Tuesday   A     Writing; Claims paragraph on Gatsby due on Thursday at the beginning of class
 Wednesday  Writing
 Thursday  F    DUE: Claims Paragraph on Gatsby
 Friday  DROP DAY

Week 17: Monday, December 31, 2018 - Friday, January 4, 2019
 Date    Agenda
 Monday      NO SCHOOL - Vacation
 Tuesday        NO SCHOOL - Vacation
 Wednesday  DROP DAY
 Thursday  D    Writing
 Friday  Writing;  QUIZ on Writing on MONDAY (See Google Classroom)HOMEWORK: Finish rewriting your body paragraph

Week 16: Monday, December 17, 2018 - Friday, December 21, 2018
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  C    The Great Gatsby, Ch 7 (pp 113-145)
 Tuesday   B     NO CLASS - Christmas Assembly
 Wednesday  The Great Gatsby, Ch 8-9 (pp 147-180)
 Thursday  G    Discuss The Great Gatsby
 Friday  NO SCHOOL - Bishop's Day    HAVE A RELAXING BREAK!

Week 15: Monday, December 10, 2018 - Friday, December 14, 2018
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  A    F. Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby, Ch 1 (pp 1-21)
 Tuesday   G     The Great Gatsby, Ch 2-3 (pp 23-59)
 Wednesday  The Great Gatsby, Ch 4 (pp 61-80)
 Thursday  E    DROP DAY
 Friday  D   The Great Gatsby, Ch 5-6 (pp 81-111)

Week 14: Monday, December 3, 2018 - Friday, December 7, 2018
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  E    DROP DAY
 Tuesday      Passing, Part Three: Finale (pp 245-275)
 Wednesday  D   Discuss Passing; Homework: Read Part 2- Assumption of Whiteness... of this critical essay
 Thursday  C   Passing; Homework: Watch second and third episodes of The Loving Generation
 Friday  B   Dickinson (continued); Passing

Week 13: Monday, November 26, 2018 - Friday, November 30, 2018
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  B    Emily Dickinson
 Tuesday  A    Dickinson (continued)
 Wednesday    Dickinson (continued)
 Thursday  G   Dickinson (continued); Nella Larsen's Passing, Part One: Encounter, Ch 1-2 (pp 171-193)
 Friday  F   Passing, Part One: Encounter, Ch 3-4 and Part Two: Re-encounter, Ch 1-4 (pp 193-241)

Week 12: Monday, November 19, 2018 - Friday, November 23, 2018
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  D    Whitman; Summer, Ch 17-18
 Tuesday  C    Summer
 Wednesday    NO CLASS - Thanksgiving Service
 Thursday    NO SCHOOL - Thanksgiving Break
 Friday    NO SCHOOL - Thanksgiving Break

Week 11: Monday, November 12, 2018 - Friday, November 16, 2018
 Date    Agenda
 Monday     NO SCHOOL - Veterans Day
 Tuesday  DUE: Station Eleven/The Crucible Essay; William Cullen Bryant's "Thanatopsis"; Summer, Ch 7-8
 Wednesday G  NO CLASS - Sophomore Retreat; Homework: Summer, Ch 9-11
 Thursday F  Walt Whitman; Summer, Ch 12-16
 Friday E  DROP DAY

Week 10: Monday, November 5, 2018 - Friday, November 9, 2018
You will need The Great Gatsby for class on December 10
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  D   Discuss The CrucibleIntroduction and two body paragraphs of Station Eleven/Crucible essay due Wednesday
 Tuesday    NO SCHOOL - Diocesan Professional Day
 Wednesday C  DUE: Intro & two body paragraphs of essay; Discuss The Crucible; Critical analysis essay due Tuesday
 Thursday    Edith Wharton's Summer, Ch 1-3
 Friday B  Anne Bradstreet; William Cullen Bryant's "Thanatopsis"; Summer, Ch 4-6

Week 9: Monday, October 29, 2018 - Friday, November 2, 2018
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  B   Arthur Miller's The Crucible
 Tuesday A  The Crucible
 Wednesday G  The Crucible; Homework: Watch In Search of History: The Salem Witch Trials
 Thursday F  NO CLASS -  All Saints' Day Mass
 Friday E  DROP DAY   LAST DAY OF QUARTER ONE

Week 8: Monday, October 22, 2018 - Friday, October 26, 2018
 Date    Agenda
 Monday  F   Sticky note activity; HW: Thesis statement (Google Classroom)
 Tuesday E  DROP DAY
 Wednesday    Structuring a literary analysis essay
 Thursday D  Literary analysis essay
 Friday C  Introduction to Arthur Miller and The Crucible

Week 7: Monday, October 15, 2018 - Friday, October 19, 2018
 Date    Agenda
 Monday D   Station Eleven- Part 7, Chapters 42-43 (pp 231-257)
 Tuesday C  Station Eleven- Part 7, Chapters 44-47 (pp 258-280)
 Wednesday B  Station Eleven- Part 8, Chapters 48-52 (pp 283-313)    Neil Swidey at BCC 7:00-9:00
 Thursday A  Station Eleven- Part 9, Chapters 53-55 (pp 317-333)
 Friday G  Station Eleven; Rate the book and write a one sentence review on Goodreads

Week 6: Monday, October 8, 2018 - Friday, October 12, 2018
 Date   Agenda
 Monday    NO SCHOOL - Columbus Day
 Tuesday G Station Eleven- Parts 5-6, Chapters 27-41 (pp 167-228)
 Wednesday
NO CLASS - PSAT Testing
 Thursday F NO CLASS - College Bowl
 Friday E DROP DAY

Week 5: Monday, October 1, 2018 - Friday, October 5, 2018
 Date   Agenda
 Monday  D  Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven- Part 1, Chapters 1-6 (pp 3-32)
 Tuesday
Station Eleven- Part 2, Chapters 7-12 (pp 35-67)
 Wednesday C Station Eleven- Part 3, Chapters 13-14 (pp 71-90)
 Thursday B Station Eleven- Part 3, Chapters 15-18 (pp 91-115)
 Friday A Station Eleven- Part 4, Chapters 19-26 (pp 119-164)

Week 4: Monday, September 24, 2018 - Friday, September 28, 2018
 Date   Agenda
 Monday  B  NO CLASS - Mercy Day Mass
 Tuesday A Trapped Under the Sea- Epilogue (pp 351-367)
 Wednesday G Trapped Under the Sea
 Thursday F Writing
 Friday E DROP DAY

Week 3: Monday, September 17, 2018 - Friday, September 21, 2018
 Date   Agenda
 Monday  F  Trapped Under the Sea- Chapter 11 (pp 207-230)
 Tuesday E DROP DAY
 Wednesday D Trapped Under the Sea- Chapter 12 (pp 154-165); Read summary of Chapter 13
 Thursday C Trapped Under the Sea- Chapters 14-15 (pp 273-350)
 Friday
NO SCHOOL - Professional Day

Week 2: Monday, September 10, 2018 - Friday, September 14, 2018
 Date   Agenda
 Monday  D  Discuss articles on reading
 Tuesday C Neil Swidey's Trapped Under the Sea- Read Prologue and summaries of Chapters 1-7
 Wednesday B Trapped Under the Sea- Chapter 8 (pp 154-165)
 Thursday A Trapped Under the Sea- Chapter 9 (pp 166-184)
 Friday G Trapped Under the Sea- Chapter 10 (pp 185-206)

Week 1: Monday, September 3, 2018 - Friday, September 7, 2018
 Date   Agenda
 Monday   NO SCHOOL- Labor Day
 Tuesday A "Poem in a Cup" activity; Homework: "My Relationship with Reading" response (see Google Classroom);
Order a copy of Trapped Under the Sea for next Monday's class!
 Wednesday G "Poem in a Cup" activity continued; Articles on reading; Homework:  Read an article on reading posted in Google Classroom
 Thursday F Summer Reading Quiz; Homework: Read another article on reading; Bring Trapped Under the Sea to class on Monday
 Friday E DROP DAY